How to make decisions (with the help of the universe)

Whether it’s deciding what to order at a restaurant or deciding what I want to do with my life, I can be a pretty indecisive person. If you want proof, I’m not lying when I say I have the coin flip app on my phone… Anyways, I’ve thought about the psychology behind indecisiveness, and I’ve come up with 3 possible explanations for why decision-making is so hard, from my perspective at least:

  1. I’m scared I’ll make the wrong decision
  2. None of the options stand out to me
  3. I’m really fine with any of the options

I haven’t chosen any one of those as the perfect explanation as to why making a decision is like pulling a tooth for me, because I think it depends on the decision-making scenario. Regardless, I’ve come to accept my indecisiveness, and instead chose to pay attention to signs around me indicating whether or not I’m on the right path.

It might sound woo woo, but my personal experiences have led me to believe that if you open yourself up to communication with the universe, more signs and synchronicities are what you’re gonna get. I’ll share all these experiences in later blog posts.

You might be wondering how exactly you open yourself up to the universe, or what that even means. It’s actually simple. Just close your eyes and talk to the universe as if you’re talking to a friend, asking for help. Say that you’re open to receiving guidance in your life through whatever means, and then ask your specific question. After doing this, try to maintain that open state in your everyday life. Pay attention to little things that pop up, like conversations with strangers or an item falling off the shelf at the grocery store, and consider that they might be signs from the universe, answers to your question.

Now I want to share with you something you can do if you have a big decision to make or if you’ve made a big decision, and you want to know if you’re on the right path with that decision:

Choose a symbol (it can be anything) and tell the universe “please show me a  _the symbol you chose_ if I should make this decision.” For example, if you’re thinking of buying a car, perhaps you’ll say “please show me a purple cat if I should buy a car.” <–You might be thinking “a purple cat?! that’s impossible!” but if it’s the right decision to make, the universe will manifest it. Trust me, it works if you’re open to the possibilities…

So how have I used this in my life? I’ll tell you about the most recent example of how the universe showed me signs that I was on the right path when I decided to pursue the job I just accepted:

A few months ago, I came across a job opportunity in Senegal, where I’ve been wanting to live for a while now. The job was a 2 year minimum, so needless to say it was a big decision to make if I was offered the position. I chose to go through the application process, and by about the third interview I chose to ask the universe for signs that this is definitely the path I should go down. The symbol I chose? A hummingbird. I live in the city and knew that seeing a hummingbird would be nearly impossible, so if the universe wanted to tell me that pursuing this job was the right decision, it would have to get creative…

AND IT DID. In about a 2 month span, I came across 3 solid signs that I was on the right path. Here they are, in order:

  1. Soon after the 3rd interview and asking the universe, I was at dinner with my friend’s parents, who were talking about their honeymoon. They talked about the various places they went, and mentioned that at one hotel, there were hummingbirds in the bushes outside their door.
  2. I was helping the kid I babysit with his homework in the living room, where he had tons of stickers scattered around the floor. Out of the corner of my eye I noticed a particularly shiny sticker, so I looked down and saw they were beautiful birds…hummingbirds! I almost couldn’t believe it, so I looked at the back of the sticker and it was confirmed that they were hummingbirds. See pic below:IMG_8322.JPG  IMG_8323.JPG
  3. I was eventually offered the job and accepted it (not just because of these signs…lol), and I was feeling good about moving to Senegal for 2 years. But then I had a pessimistic Lyft driver, who constantly questioned my reasoning for accepting a job in Senegal, saying how hard it would be to find a job in the States after and how I was basically crazy. I remained confident in my decision because it’s seriously my dream job, but that conversation no doubt got me down temporarily. Almost as if the universe wanted to reassure me in my decision, I saw this rare sight on an impulsive walk in the park the very next day:

IMG_8511.JPG

I think one of the reasons people say “life is hard” is because we often let the hard times get us down, when really we should be paying attention to what went wrong and learning from it, perhaps discovering that deciding to do something differently would put us on the right path. Take comfort in the fact that any time you have a decision to make, no matter how big or small, you can open up and ask the universe to send you signs regarding the path you should take. And the response might surprise you…

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

